Seed collecting

September 18, 2009 jendlit

I’ve been collecting seeds from many of my plants: Cosmos, Zinnias, Mallows, Coral Nymph Salvias, Balsam impatiens, and a few others. I really enjoy getting to share my seeds w/ friends and family so that they have a part of my gardens to enjoy in their own gardens! I’m off from work for the next 4 days and am hoping for beautiful weather so that I can spend lots of time outside! I’m going to try to get a photo of the male Ruby-throated hummingbird that’s been hanging around lately. He seems less afraid of me than the girls are. I’m hoping to entice the hummingbirds to nest in the shrubs near my porch next spring by hanging nesting material in my lilac bush. One of our patients showed us a photo he’d taken on his phone of a hummingbird nest that was built on top of a little windchime on a porch. It had one little “tic tac” size egg in it! It was really amazing~ I’d love to get some of my own! Enjoy all the beautiful fall flowers that are starting to bloom! Hope you all have a great weekend!

Entry Filed under: 1

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Flickr Photos